Learn more about the governors.

Knowing the political party of the governor in each state gives you an idea of the balance of power between the executive and legislature. Term expiration information indicates when the balance of power may change. It also helps you to predict how the executive's power to sign or veto might influence a bill's progress through the legislature. The individual governor information found by clicking on the provided link leads you directly to the specific governor’s page, and also provides you with other useful information. 

State Governor Term Expires Term Limited
Alabama Kay Ivey (R) 2022 No
Alaska Mike Dunleavy (R) 2022 No
Arizona Doug Ducey (R) 2022 Yes
Arkansas Asa Hutchinson (R) 2022 Yes
California Gavin Newsom (D) 2022 No
Colorado Jared Polis (D) 2022 No
Connecticut Ned Lamont (D) 2022 No
Delaware John Carney (D) 2020 No
District of Columbia Mayor Muriel Bowser (D) 2022 No
Florida Ron DeSantis (R) 2022 No
Georgia Brian Kemp (R) 2022 No
Guam Lourdes Leon Guerrero (D) 2022 No
Hawaii David Ige (D) 2022 Yes
Idaho Brad Little (R) 2022 No
Illinois J.B. Pritzker (D) 2022 No
Indiana Eric Holcomb (R) 2020 No
Iowa Kim Reynolds (R) 2022 No
Kansas Laura Kelly (D) 2022 No
Kentucky Matt Bevin (R) 2019 No
Louisiana John Bel Edwards (D) 2019 Yes
Maine Janet Mills (D) 2022 No
Maryland Larry Hogan (R) 2022 Yes
Massachusetts Charlie Baker (R) 2022 Yes
Michigan Gretchen Whitmer (D) 2022 No
Minnesota Tim Walz (D) 2022 No
Mississippi Phil Bryant (R) 2019 No
Missouri Mike Parson (R) 2020 No
Montana Steve Bullock (D) 2020 No
Nebraska Pete Ricketts (R) 2022 Yes
Nevada Steve Sisolak (D) 2022 No
New Hampshire Chris Sununu (R) 2020 No
New Jersey Phil Murphy (D) 2021 No
New Mexico Michelle Lujan Grisham (D) 2022 No
New York Andrew Cuomo (D) 2022 No
North Carolina Roy Cooper (D) 2020 No
North Dakota Doug Burgum (R) 2020 No
Ohio Mike DeWine (R) 2022 No
Oklahoma Kevin Stitt (R) 2022 No
Oregon Kate Brown (D) 2022 No
Pennsylvania Tom Wolf (D) 2022 Yes
Puerto Rico Ricardo Rosselló Nevares 2021 Yes
Rhode Island Gina Raimondo (D) 2022 No
South Carolina Henry McMaster (R) 2022 No
South Dakota Kristi Noem (R) 2022 No
Tennessee Bill Lee (R) 2022 No
Texas Greg Abbott (R) 2022 No
U.S. Virgin Islands Albert Bryan (D) 2022 No
Utah Gary Herbert (R) 2020 No
Vermont Phil Scott (R) 2020 No
Virginia Ralph Northam (D) 2021 Yes
Washington Jay Inslee (D) 2020 No
West Virginia Jim Justice (R) 2021 No
Wisconsin Tony Evers (D) 2022 No
Wyoming Mark Gordon (R) 2022 No
United States President Donald J. Trump (R) 2021 No