Mayors of select U.S. cities.

A mayor is the leader of a municipal government. Mayors have varying levels of influence over the legislation put forth by the municipal council, but in most larger cities they act as the head of the municipality’s executive branch. Below, StateScape provides a list of the mayors from municipalities with populations over 500,000. Knowing the political party and term expiration of the mayor can help you decipher the balance of political power in these cities.

Locality Mayor Term Expires
Albuquerque NM Tim Keller (R) 2021
Austin TX Steve Adler (D) 2022
Baltimore MD Bernard C. "Jack" Young (D) 2020
Boston MA Marty Walsh (D) 2022
Charlotte NC Jennifer Roberts (D) 2019
Chicago IL Lori Lightfoot (D) 2023
Columbus OH Andrew Ginther (D) 2020
Dallas TX Mike Rawlings (D) 2019
Denver CO Michael Hancock (D) 2021
Detroit MI Mike Duggan (D) 2022
El Paso TX Dee Margo (R) 2021
Fort Worth TX Betsy Price (R) 2019
Fresno CA Lee Brand (R) 2021
Houston TX Sylvester Turner (D) 2020
Indianapolis IN Joseph Hogsett (D) 2020
Jacksonville FL Lenny Curry (D) 2019
Las Vegas NV Carolyn Goodman (I) 2019
Los Angeles CA Eric Garcetti (D) 2021
Louisville KY Greg Fischer (D) 2019
Memphis TN Jim Strickland (D) 2020
Milwaukee WI Tom Barrett (D) 2020
Nashville TN David Briley (D) 2019
New York NY Bill DeBlasio (D) 2022
Oklahoma City OK David Holt (R) 2022
Philadelphia PA Jim Kenney (D) 2020
Phoenix AZ Kate Gallego (D) 2023
Portland OR Ted Wheeler (D) 2021
Sacramento CA Darrell Steinberg (D) 2020
San Antonio TX Ron Nirenberg (I) 2021
San Diego CA Kevin Faulconer (R) 2021
San Francisco CA London Breed (D) 2022
San Jose CA Sam Liccardo (D) 2021
Seattle WA Jenny Durkan (D) 2021
Tucson AZ Jonathan Rothschild (D) 2019
Washington DC Muriel Bowser (D) 2022